No tax hike at Juniata Co. | News, Sports, Jobs



MIFFLINTOWN – Juniata County Commissioners have set an interim budget for fiscal 2022 and set the real estate mileage rate without a tax increase. The general fund over which the Commissioners have control is set at $ 13,606,974.44.

Commissioner Alice Gray said all county department heads are doing a great job of staying on budget to allow the county to keep the same tax rate.

Also, at the meeting, the commissioners reappointed the heads of departments for fiscal year 2022. The heads of departments include S. James Bahorik, county administrator / chief clerk; Lindsey R. Shoop, Director of Tax Management; Donald K. Zagurskie, lawyer; Jeff Haines, Chief Evaluator; Brenda Varner, Director of Tax Claims; Ashley J. Baxter, Director of Children and Youth Services; Allen Weaver, emergency management administrator and director of the 911 center; Bradley Kerstetter, Director of Planning; Dennis Hutchings, Director of Veterans Affairs; Eva Weyrich, Registrar of Electors; Rich Fisher, Director of Maintenance; and Michael J. Hower, director of MIS and evaluation.

The commissioners also reappointed the following for four-year terms on the Juniata County Planning Commission beginning January 1, 2022 and expiring December 31, 2025, as recommended by Bradley W. Kerstetter, Director of Planning and from Community Development: George Hackenberger, Craig Strawser and Glenn Supplee.

These board and committee appointments were also approved for fiscal year 2022 – Commissioner Alice Gray: Behavioral and Developmental Services Advisory Board, Appeal Board, Block Grant for Community Services, Board of Agencies, Emergency Food and Shelter Program, Human Services and Development Fund, Juniata Valley Visitors Bureau, Local Emergency Planning Commission, Prevention Grant Committee, South Central Investment Board, State Emergency Food Committee and Tri-County BDS Executive Committee; Commissioner Todd Gray: Agland Preservation Board, Chamber of Commerce, Conservation District Board, Local Emergency Planning Commission, Natural Gas Co-op, Prison / Inmate Liaison and United Way; Commissioner Mark Partner; Regional Aging Agency, Local Emergency Planning Commission, Mifflin-Juniata Regional Services Board, PCorp, PSU Agriculture Extension and SEDA-COG Board of Directors; County Administrator / Chief Clerk S. James Bahorik: Deferred Compensation CCAP and PCHIP.

During the meeting, the commissioners also:

Approved 2021 allocation requests for liquid fuel funds: Monroe Township in the amount of $ 2,750.45

Approved tax exemptions for the townships of Fayette and Milford and the borough of Mifflintown according to the documents provided.

¯ Ratified the United States Department of Homeland Security Fiscal Year 2021 State Homeland Security Grant Program Agreement by and between the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (“Commonwealth”), acting through the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (“PEMA”), and the Regional Counterterrorism Task Force in the South Central Mountains (“Sub-recipient”) as recommended by Allen Weaver, Director of the Emergency Management Agency. The duration of the agreement is from September 1, 2021 to November 30, 2024.

Approved the reappointment of Mr. Fred E. Naylor as Secretary of the Juniata County Industrial Development Authority, as requested by Mr. John Shirk, Chairman of the Industrial Development Authority. The reappointment is for a five-year term starting on January 1, 2022 and expiring on December 31, 2026.

Took note of the resignations of Debra J. Huber from her position as Secretary of the Office of Judicial District Judge Jacqueline T. Leister as of the end of activities on November 29, 2021, Jana K. Hutchinson from her position of First Deputy Treasurer effective at the end of activities on December 31, 2021, Susan G. Harris from her position of assistant treasurer effective at the end of activities on December 31, 2021. Brenda L. Clark from her position as casual member – employed on time with the Juniata County Treasurer’s Office as of the end of operations on December 30, 2021, and Ronald G. Cisney from his telecommunication position with the County Communications Center as of the end of operations on December 17, 2021.

Authorized the county administrator to carry out a “Commercial Energy Sale Agreement” for the purchase of electricity in consortium as recommended by Provident Energy Consulting, LLC. Due to the current volatility in energy prices, Provident Energy is requesting same day execution of the deal.

¯ Approved payment of checks No. 63127 – No. 63149 in the amount of $ 40,477.43.

¯ Reviewed the following ministerial reports: “Recovery Report Summary – Fines and Costs” as submitted by Jacqueline T. Leister, Judicial District Judge. (October 2021), “Summary report of disbursements” as submitted by Tracy Powell, Judicial District Judge. (November 2021), and “Treasurer’s Report” as presented by the treasurer’s office. (November 2021).

The latest news of the day and more in your inbox



About Author

Comments are closed.